Blog Tour! Favorite Quotes from Jubilee Manor (Landry Park #2) + Giveaway

JM

 

Today on Across the Words, I am participating in The Fantastic Flying Book Club blog tour of Jubilee Manor, which is the second and final book in the Landry Park series. As part of the tour, I am highlighting a few of my favorite quotes from the book. There is also a chance to enter a giveaway for a signed copy of the first book and a signed ARC of the second below. 

 

JubileeManor
Title: Jubilee Manor (Landry Park #2)
Author: Bethany Hagen
Genre: Dystopian, Young Adult, Romance, Science Fiction
Publisher: Dial/Penguin
Release Date: August 11th 2015

 

 

 

Book Summary

The thrilling conclusion to Landry Park is full of love, betrayal, and murder–perfect for fans of Divergent, The Selection, andPride and Prejudice.

In Landry Park, Madeline turned her back on her elite family, friends, and estate to help the Rootless. Now, in Jubilee Manor, she struggles to bring the Gentry and the Rootless together. But when Gentry heirs—Madeline’s old friends—are murdered, even she begins to think a Rootless is behind it, putting her at odds with the boy she loves and the very people she is trying to lead. If she can’t figure out who is killing her friends and bring them to justice, a violent war will erupt and even more will die—and Madeline’s name, her estate, and all the bonds she’s forged won’t make any difference.

This conclusion to Landry Park, which VOYA dubbed “Gone with the Wind meets The Hunger Games,” is a richly satisfying, addictive read.

 

Favorite Quotes

 

1. He was off before I finished, making his way over to the grieving men in quick and graceful strides. He knelt beside them both, putting his arms around them and murmuring low words, rocking back and form with them, and never had I felt so in love with this charming boy I still barely knew, this boy of sharp edges and hidden compassion. (p. 33)

loving-cute-guy-and-girl-hugging-1920x1080

 

2. Diplomacy had been an easy word to bandy about while I was in my marble floored home, catered to by an army of servants, but these people needed change, real change. Immediately. And how fair of me was it to wait for that change in my ivy-scented bower, while they waited in the cold? (p.70)

 

0fe31a2f2d6acc7a92e70ad2deadd8d6

 

3. “This is so much like my father’s funeral…” He trailed off…”I don’t like the ritualized grieving, the forced condolences. None of it’s genuine, but then again, people don’t really want the genuine feelings. The real anger. The real pain. They just want to hold their umbrellas and say sorry and go back to their lives.” (p. 83)

 

436bbaf154401453ac831ca73c3836d7

4. “I still could not stop myself from noticing how his eyes seemed to steal the color and life from everything around us.” (p. 122)

beauty,eyes,handsome,lips,man,beautifulpeople-a054ba48df2cbc510e73340d0234d16d_h

 

5. “Last year, I would have gone to Father or to Jack, passing on my worries like they were a physical burden I could lay at their feet. Maybe even yesterday, I would have done that. But not tonight. Tonight I endured my worries alone.” (p. 182)

q7ae6p-l-c335x335-dress-black+dress-long+sleeved+dresses-black+dress+silver+embroidering

 

6. “This is exactly the kind of dress you need to wear. Get his attention. He’s used to looking at you like an heiress. Make him look at you like a woman.” (p. 213)

jenny-packham-fall-2015-runway-gown-long-sleeve-silver-sparkle-h724

 

Giveaway

Giveaway photo prize

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Follow the Jubilee Manor by Bethany Hagen Blog Tour. Click on the banner to see the tour schedule.

followthetour

 

Screen Shot 2015-06-24 at 2.54.25 PM

About the Author

 

Bethany

 

Bethany Hagen was born and raised in Kansas City. She grew up reading Charlotte Brontë, Jane Austen, and all things King Arthur, and went on to become a librarian. Landry Park is her debut novel.

One thought on “Blog Tour! Favorite Quotes from Jubilee Manor (Landry Park #2) + Giveaway

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge